Language:
Bucharest Surroundings
  • Bucharest Panoramic View +
  • Mogosoaia Castle
  • Snagov Monastery
  • Tiganesti Monastery

  • Mogosoaia Castle- It’s considered to be the best  representation of Brancovenesc  architectural style (typical south-romanian architecture in the 1700’s and 1800’s). You can visit the buildings in the courtyard (CUHNIA, GHETARIA, and the small church in front of the entrance) and the castle itself. Sometimes, the castle exhibits contemporary art galleries, in addition to the normal private collections.  A nice panoramic can be viewed  from the top of the entry tower.
    CUHNIA (former castle kitchen)  guests an collection of pics of the larget medieval monasteries from Bucharest (most of them demolished by communists in the late ’80s).
    The castle is built on the lakeshore (pity there are so many modern villas opposite the lake) and is surrounded by a large park with many very old trees. Hidden in the park (left side as you enter the courtyard) is the grave of the last owners of the castle (Bibescu family). Servant’s houses (on the main alley leading to the entrance in the castle courtyard) are representative for the popular architecture of the early 1900’s.

  • Snagov Monastery   is situated on a small island of Snagov Lake. It was first founded in the 14th century by Mircea “the Old” Voivode, and it was refounded by Vladislav II Voiovode and Vlad Tepes Voivode in the 15th century. The church was constructed during the reign of Neagoe Basarb Voivode between 1517 and 1521.
    It’s architectural style follows the architectural pattern characteristic to the monasteries situated on the Holy Mount Ethos. The church was painted in 1563 during the reign of Petru cel Tanar (Peter the Young) Voivode.
    The paintings constitute the greatest mural complex to be found in all the Orthodox churches of Romania and were executed by Master Dobromir cel Tanar (Dobromir the Young).
    Beginning with 1840, here, in the monastery,  a lot of people were exiledas a result of  beeing persecuted by Romania’s rulers. Most of them died and were interred within the monastery cemetery.
    The holy establishment has a significant cultural role: the printing house set up by Antim Ivireanul functioned on the monastic premises after the monastery had undergone extensive repairs and restoration works during the reign of Constantin Brancoveanu Voivode.
    After the secularization process which took place in the 19th century, all the monastic cells were pulled down with the exception of the church – which, being vacated gradually decayed. The church was restored in 1904 and in 1936.
    Subsequent renovation activities were carried out on the orders of the Committee for Historical Monuments, starting in 1941 and ending in 1953. In 1966, Patriarch Justinian, initiated further renovation activities

Old secrets are linking Sangov monastery with Romanian medieval history . One of the stories is about the strange noise which can be heard when the strong winds rummage the deep waters and the frightful sound of ringing bells of the old sunk church (built here by Vlad the Impaler‘s grandfather, Mircea cel Batran) is revealed to a cautioned ear. The island and the monastery witnessed throughout the centuries lots of crimes and dramas.
Vlad the Impaler built a jail with special torture chambers where the prisoners were killed b
y fire or iron and then thrown straight into the lake by a sort of canon.
In 1476, Prince Vlad the Impaler-Dracula was mysteriously killed in a battle and the legend says that he was buried in Snagov Monastery. The archaeological digging of the tomb  revealed only a six foot
empty pit and small remains of medieval clothes. In this case, if this is the  grave of Vlad Tepes “Dracula”( as it is written on the memorial stone  covering the grave) where is his body?